alphabetical listing of state/province laws
related to obtaining a marriage license.
A-E (Alabama -
District of Columbia)
(Kansas - Montana)
a result of a BC Appeal Courtís decision,
same sex marriage is legal in British
Columbia, effective July 8, 2003. All
existing requirements for getting married in
BC remain in effect for same sex marriages
in the province. If you are coming to BC to
get married, please contact the appropriate
authorities in the jurisdiction where you
are a resident to determine whether your
marriage will be recognized.
information on how to get married in British
Applying for a Marriage License
Marriage Act requires that you obtain a
Marriage License before getting married
in British Columbia. The license does
not mean that you are married, but that
you may get married any time during the
three-month term of the license.
bride or groom must apply in person to
the Marriage License Issuer in your
community (click here
to search for a location near you).
one member of the couple needs to apply
for the license, but you will be asked
to provide identification for both the
bride and the groom. Information
required with identification will
name, including given names
date and birth place
must be paid at the time of application.
license will be issued at the time of
application, and is valid for three
months from the time of issuance.
Licenses are not refundable.
Who can get
over 19 years of age is eligible to
apply for a marriage license in British
under 19 years of age must first obtain
the consent of both parents. Your local
Marriage License Issuer has the required
consent forms or the form can be
one under the age of 16 years can be
married without the consent of the
Supreme or County Court.
do not have to be a B.C. resident in
order to be married here, but the
license is only valid in this province.
tests are not required under B.C.
one or both of the intended parties was
recently divorced (within the last 31
days), proof of divorce must be
license may be issued until a divorce
has been finalized by the courts (this
is normally 31 days after the divorce
decree has been issued by the courts).